post

I’m a Little Robot, Short and Stout..

Image

When I first heard of the term “Steampunk,” I thought it was something having to do with loud, obnoxious techno music that contained frequent audio clips taken from B-list sci-fi movies. Since this particular genre of music is not my cup o’ tea, I eventually forgot about the whole steampunk thing. That is, until we moved to Portland a year ago.

I’m pretty sure that anyone who has some idea of the unique cultures throughout the states has heard of Portland, Oregon. Home of hipsters, hippies, bumper stickers and excessive self-expression. And putting birds on things… On the topic of self-expression, there are (too) many daily events for people to gather in town and partake in goofy things. One of the most popular events was a Steampunk themed masquerade ball. Upon seeing fliers for this ball on every light post from the grocery store to my apartment, I decided to find out once and for all what Steampunk really was.

I was surprised to discover that Steampunk is actually a genre of science fiction that is typically reflected in the lifestyles of hardcore fans. No wonder it’s so popular in Portland. The part that I came to appreciate most about Steampunk is the creativity and unique artistic style involved in the creation of costumes and paintings. I even made a guide on how to make something “Steampunk.”

Step 1: Use warm colors (orange, yellow, brown)

Step 2: Take a normal, everyday object, and add gears, machine parts, pipes, valves, wires, etc. to make it look futuristic

Step 3: Add more gears, machine parts, pipes, valves, wires, etc. to make it look even more futuristic

As you can see from the digital painting, I did hold back on the excessive use of machine parts, but I did want make something that had a futuristic, yet old-fashioned feel to it. The result was a little robot made of copper standing in a workshop. 

Leave a Reply

